the last dance of ian curtis.

I never was much of a Joy Division fan when I was younger.  Let me re-phrase that, I never did get into Joy Division when I was younger.  I’ll blame that on my musical limitations I suppose.  But, as my limitations have faded over the years I can say the following post doesn’t surprise me as much as it would my younger self:

The morning after a very messy drinking olympics this past summer I kindly got a drive back to Halifax with a few musically inclined friends (Mike & Nico).  On the three hour drive a lot of music was played and discussed, but it wasn’t until Joy Division came on that I considered a day dream out the window.

Joy Division were a late 1970s band from Manchester.

You see, until that day I still only equated Joy Division to the song Love Will Tear Us Apart which appealed to me in the same way the movie from which I had heard it appeals to me (Donnie Darko), by which I mean: to remain upbeat, only listen on occasion.

It wasn’t until about fifteen to twenty minutes into the disc that I heard a song that caught my ear.  I asked my friend what the name of the song was and he said “She’s Lost Control” and added that the noise you can hear every two seconds is actually a recording of a spray paint nozzle being pressed down.  I had never heard of anything like that…I was beyond taken by the innovation and creativity.  He told me he had seen it in the movie Control about Joy Division lead singer, Ian Curtis.

After watching Control I had not only found a new band to listen to, I had also found someone new to admire.  Now, listen to this and keep reading.

Ian Curtis shares an admiration of David Bowie with myself and many others.

For those who don’t know, Ian Curtis suffered with epilepsy and depression until 1980, when some people say Joy Division were at their best.  He took his life.  The remaining members of Joy Division formed into New Order and continued on.

On stage he was known for his robotic and machine like voice along with his frantic dancing that strangely mimics his epileptic episodes (seen here).  I like to think of him as a new-age Mick Jagger, and by new-age I mean similar, but at the same time completely different in every other way.

To me, Ian Curtis is completely unique and I have developed a new appreciation for the artistic side of music after listening to his music and learning more about him.  For those who want to know exactly what I mean I encourage you to start with the movie Control and see where it goes.  Trust me.

This is the album cover for Joy Division's Unknown Pleasures (1979). The image represents pulses from the first pulsar ever discovered.

One thought on “the last dance of ian curtis.

  1. Pingback: lost and found, vol. four. | column C.

Leave a Reply

